Atlantic Canada

The Atlantic Provinces consist of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland & Labrador.

New Brunswick (NB) – Capital, Fredericton

New Brunswick is remarkably geographically varied, combining more than a thousand Hopewell Rockskilometers of shoreline and seascapes with picturesque farmlands and endless stretches of often mountainous wilderness. It borders Quebec and Nova Scotia as well as Maine. You can live in a small town or city and still be very close to beautiful lakes, rivers, and outdoor spaces. New Brunswick is Canada’s only officially bilingual province (English and French). Enchanting in its diversity, New Brunswick is the gateway to Atlantic Canada.

New Brunswick’s educational institutions and schools combine excellence in education with intimate and engaging learning environments that provide you the opportunity to engage with your professors or teachers and classmates in a meaningful way. By supporting and encouraging initiative, exploration, and critical thought, our institutions and schools will also help you discover and realize your full potential. New Brunswick has a population of around 772,094 (2019 est.) and has been a Province of Canada since July 1st, 1867.


Nova Scotia (NS) – Capital, Halifax

Halifax, Nova ScotiaThis province upholds excellence in education, which, coupled with the relaxed lifestyle, make it a popular destination for international students. Nova Scotia is one of North America’s foremost seacoast destinations and the sea is never far away. The proximity of the coast has shaped the character and lives of Nova Scotians as much as it has the splendid maritime landscape. You can immerse yourself in a culture that ranges from traditional to avant-garde. There is year-round surfing, sea kayaking, wineries, and markets all within easy driving distance, making Nova Scotia the perfect place for exploring. Nova Scotia is also an ideal North American location for a variety of cutting-edge industries powering global innovation. Nova Scotia has a population of approximately 965,382 (2019 est.) and became a Province of Canada on July 1st, 1867.

Prince Edward Island (PEI) – Capital, Charlottetown

Prince Edward Island is Canada’s smallest and greenest province. Cradled on thePrince Edward Island waves of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, PEI is known for the vivid colors of its gently rolling landscape, surrounded by miles of sandy beaches and red sandstone cliffs. You won’t want to miss out on the opportunity to visit the home of world famous Canadian novel protagonist, Anne of Green Gables. The province’s capital city of Charlottetown offers the peace of small-city living while still encompassing a collective love of cultural celebrations. PEI is one of the most cost-effective locations in North America for software development, specialty chemical production, bio-science research, and development activities. PEI has a population of 154,748 (2019 est.) and became a Province of Canada on July 1st, 1873.

Newfoundland & Labrador (NL) – Capital, St. John’s

NFLDNewfoundland and Labrador is located on the eastern edge of North America, which has helped preserve its unique character. It is made up of two parts: Newfoundland, an island in the Atlantic Ocean, and Labrador on mainland Canada. Real and genuine, warm and welcoming, fun-loving and funny to the core, the people here are also known for their natural creativity and knack for storytelling. With one of the lowest crime rates in North America, the province is one of the safest and most welcoming places in the world to live and work. Newfoundland and Labrador is home to a cluster of world-class educational institutions, companies, and industry organizations offering some of the most innovative ocean technologies in the world. The knowledge and expertise found in this province have made it the base of operations for current and future Arctic-related activities. Newfoundland & Labrador has a population of 523,790 (2019 est.) and has been a Province of Canada since April 1st, 1949.